

OFFICERS of the PILGRIM MEMORIAL SOCIETY

President, J. HENRY SEARS

Treasurer, HOWARD F. HOPKINS

Secretary, OSBORN NICKERSON

DIRECTORS

I. HENRY SEARS L. D. BAKER THOMAS C. THACHER WM. B. LAWRENCE EDWARD B. ATWOOD

HENRY H. BAKER EVERETT I. NYE HENRY H. SEARS OSBORN NICKERSON

COMPACT

IN THE NAME OF GOD, AMEN.

WE, WHOSE NAMES ARE UNDERWRITTEN, THE LOYAL SUBJECTS OF OUR DREAD SOVEREIGN LORD KING JAMES, BY THE GRACE OF GOD OF GREAT BRITAIN, FRANCE, AND IRELAND, KING, DEFENDER OF THE FAITH, ETC, HAVING UNDERTAKEN FOR THE GLORY OF GOD AND ADVANCEMENT OF THE CHRISTIAN FAITH AND THE HONOR OF OUR KING AND COUNTRY, A VOYAGE TO PLANT THE FIRST COLONY IN THE NORTHERN PARTS OF VIRGINIA, DO BY THESE PRESENTS SOLEMNLY AND MUTUALLY IN THE PRESENCE OF GOD, AND ONE ANOTHER, COVENANT AND COMBINE OURSELVES TOGETHER INTO A CIVIL BODY POLITIC, FOR OUR BETTER ORDERING AND PRESERVATION AND FURTHERANCE OF THE ENDS AFORESAID AND BY VIRTUE HEREOF DO ENACT, CONSTITUTE, AND FRAME SUCH JUST AND EQUAL LAWS, ORDINANCES, ACTS, CONSTITUTIONS, AND OFFICES FROM TIME TO TIME AS SHALL BE THOUGHT MOST MEET AND CONVENIENT FOR THE GENERAL GOOD OF THE COLONY: UNTO WHICH WE PROMISE ALL DUE SUBMISSION AND OBEDIENCE. IN WITNESS WHEREOF WE HAVE HEREUNTO SUBSCRIBED OUR NAMES AT CAPE COD, THE 11TH OF NOVEMBER, IN THE YEAR OF THE REIGN OF OUR SOVEREIGN, LORD KING JAMES OF ENGLAND, FRANCE, AND IRELAND, THE EIGHTEENTH, AND OF SCOTLAND THE FIFTY-FOURTH, ANNO DOMINI, 1620.

MR. JOHN CARVER WILLIAM BRADFORD MR. EDWARD WINSLOW MR. WILLIAM BREWSTER MR. ISAAC ALLERTON CAPT. MILES STANDISH JOHN ALDEN MR. SAMUEL FULLER MR. CHRISTOPHER MARTIN MR. WILLIAM MULLINS MR. WILLIAM WHITE MR. RICHARD WARREN JOHN HOWLAND MR. STEPHEN HOPKINS EDWARD TILLY JOHN TILLY FRANCIS COOKE THOMAS ROGERS THOMAS TINKER JOHN RIDGDALE EDWARD FULLER

JOHN TURNER FRANCIS EATON JAMES CHILTON **JOHN CRACKSTON** JOHN BILLINGTON MOSES FLETCHER **JOHN GOODMAN** DEGORY PRIEST THOMAS WILLIAMS GILBERT WINSLOW EDMUND MARGESON PETER BROWN RICHARD BRITTERIDGE GEORGE SOULE RICHARD CLARKE RICHARD GARDINER **JOHN ALLERTON** THOMAS ENGLISH EDWARD DOTEY EDWARD LEISTER

... ORDER OF EXERCISES

200

- 1st A Committee consisting of the President of the Pilgrim Society, the Governor of Massachusetts and the Chairman of the Selectmen of Provincetown, to meet the President of the United States as he lands at the dock at 10.45 A. M.
- 2nd Procession from the dock to the place of ceremony on Town Hill.
- 3rd Prayer.
- 4th Masonic Ceremonies by Grand Lodge of Masons of Massachusetts.
- 5th Music by the Band.
- 6th Address by the President of the Pilgrim Society introducing the Governor of the State of Massachusetts.
- 7th Address by the Governor of the State welcoming the President of the United States and introducing him.
- 8th Oration by the President of the United States.
- 9th Music by the Band.

ORDER OF EXERCISES...



- 10th Address by the British Ambassador.
- 11th Address by the Secretary of War.
- 12th Address by Senator Henry Cabot Lodge. *
- 13th Address by Congressman W. C. Lovering.
- 14th National Hymn by the Band.
- 15th Procession from Hill to Town Hall.
- 16th Banquet at Town Hall with such speeches as may be necessary.
- 17th President escorted back to wharf.

BAND CONCERT from 8 until 9 P. M.

GRAND BALL IN EVENING AT TOWN HALL Salem Cadet Band Orchestra

COMMITTEES

Finance Committee

JOSEPH A. WEST, Chairman

R. A. Hopkins

J. F. SNOW, Secretary

J. F. Snow

*

Music Committee

S. C. Smith

E. Olin Snow M. N. Gifford

Committee on Grand Stand

Joseph Manta R. A. Hopkins Dr. M. P. Campbell

Committee on Seats for Grand Stand

Joseph A. West

Heman S. Cook

Committee on Seats on Hill

Angus McKay

R. E. Conwell

John D. Adams

Banquet Committee

D. F. Small

E. J. Rodgers

Walker Welsh Dr. A. S. Macleod S. C. Smith John A. Cook

Reception Committee

Heman S. Cook

John A. Cook Joseph A. West A. P. Hannum

COMMITTEES

Decorating Committee E. Olin Snow A. P. Hannum Chas. A. Foster Committee on Badges and Printing I. F. Snow R. E. Conwell Howard F. Hopkins Carriage Committee M. N. Gifford Jerome S. Smith Marshals of the Day C. A. Foster J. S. Smith R. E. Conwell Joseph Manta A. P. Hannum Invitation Committee H. H. Baker T. C. Thacher J. Henry Sears Raymond A. Hopkins Walter Welsh A. P. Hannum Committee on Contributions L. D. Baker H. H. Baker Jerome S. Smith Committee on Transportation

T. C. Thacher L. D. Baker, Jr. Wm. B. Lawrence J. F. Snow



-